Explore Canada: Joffre Lakes, BC.

When I was 12 years old, my class did a hike up to Joffre Lakes, which is located just east of Pemberton, BC . I remember how hot the sun was and how good it felt to jump into one of the crisp glacier fed lakes to cool off. Ever since that day, I have had a huge love for this place.

Last summer, two friends and I made the trek up the mountain with our massive backpacks to do a backcountry camping trip there. The hike was great, although the trail was much busier than I remember it being in years past. When we arrived at our camping destination, there weren’t many spots left! I put my tent up on a bed of rocks, but I didn’t mind because of the beautiful mountain view and the sound of water rushing from the waterfall!

Campsite at Joffre Lakes.

Campsite at Joffre Lakes.

Joffre Lakes sunrise.

Joffre Lakes sunrise.

We spent the evening taking in the views, playing cards and eating cheesy beans. I hope to make it back for another weekend camp at Joffre this summer, but I will be sure to arrive earlier in the day to secure a good spot to pitch my tent.

What are your favourite hikes to do in British Columbia?

2 thoughts on “Explore Canada: Joffre Lakes, BC.

Leave a comment