European Adventures: Berlin, Germany.

I have been terrible at blogging lately! I started posting about my European adventures quite a while ago, but I think it’s been months since I last posted. I have recently caught a death cold (which I blame on an epic day at Mt. Baker on Sunday..no hard feelings though 🙂 ) so since I am home sick from work, I have time to put some blog posts together!

While I was staying in the Czech Republic, one of my favourite humans from Canada came to visit and we spent a close to a month backpacking through Germany, Belgium, the Netherlands and Portugal. The first stop of our journey was in Berlin. We arrived at the Bus station in Prague early on the day we were traveling to Berlin. When we got to the counter we found out that I am brilliant and booked a bus for the wrong day! Thankfully there was a bus going to Berlin later in the day and there were free spots on it!

While in Berlin we stayed at the Pfefferbett Hostel. This is definitely one of my top 3 favourite hostels I have ever stayed in. The staff were awesome, they had a great bar at the hostel where they infused their own liquor (my favourite was a blueberry & balm infused gin – SO GOOD!) and it was located in the trendy district of Prenzlauer Berg. There are tons of restaurants, coffee shops and bars in the area and there are a lot of young people around.

Processed with VSCOcam with se3 preset

Walking through Berlin.

It was absolutely freezing while we were in Berlin so we did what we could to keep warm! We enjoyed coffee and carrot cake at The Barn. If you are in Berlin, you MUST check this coffee shop out. Their food and drinks are incredible and the staff are friendly and so knowledgable about coffee.

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

The most delightful latte and carrot cake at The Barn.

One day we took a bus tour around the city because it was particularly freezing and rainy. It was a good way to see all the sights of the city and keep warm at the same time. We stumbled upon a cool market one day and spent hours rummaging through old vinyl and trinkets at the market even though we knew we couldn’t take anything with us. We also tried to visit the Holocaust Museum but it was closed both days we had free!

Berlin was a fun city and if I ever visit again, it will have to be in the summer!

Have you travelled in Germany at all? What places did you visit?

2 thoughts on “European Adventures: Berlin, Germany.

  1. plaidcamper

    Hope you’re feeling better! Never spent more than a few hours in Germany – would like to visit, particularly Berlin after reading this! Mrs PC speaks German and has visited several times, so I’d have a good guide! (Loved the coffee and cake photo…)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a comment