European Adventures: Porto, Portugal.

Portugal was definitely my favourite place to visit on my backpacking trip with my friend Leanne. We spent the first few days in Porto and stayed at Tattva Design Hostel. The hostel was in a great location and had incredible staff! The first night we were there, we spent the evening drinking wine and an entire bottle of port with the staff and a few of the guys who we met at the hostel. After drinking so much liquor we needed some food so the guys who worked at the hostel took us out to one of their favourite restaurants. It happened to be closed but they knew the owners so they let us in and made us some of their favourite dishes. My memories of this night are a bit foggy but I definitely remember sausage being a part of what we ate.

While we were in Porto we spent a lot of time walking through the city streets, admiring the beautiful views and architecture. I love how each country in Europe feels to have their own distinct style of architecture.

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

Church in Porto.

You can’t visit Porto without doing a port tasting. We decided on Calem for our tour. I loved learning about the process of making port. At the end of the tour we tried three ports paired with chocolate. My favourite port that I tried was a 10 year aged tawny. I found it the best because it was the least sweet of the ones we sampled.

Processed with VSCOcam with lv03 preset

Streets of Porto.

On our last day in Porto, we decided to take a day trip to Guimaraes, a beautiful medieval town about an hour train ride from Porto. Guimaraes is lovely, but I would only recommend going during tourist season. Because we went there at the end of November, there was almost nothing open and we had a hard time navigating where to go and even finding somewhere to stop for lunch.

Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset

Walking through the streets of Guimaraes.

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

Guimaraes castle.

I am so glad we spent time in Porto and Guimaraes. These are definitely places I would visit again. Have you been to Portugal to visit? What was your favourite Portuguese dish? Did you get a tour of any of their wineries?

6 thoughts on “European Adventures: Porto, Portugal.

  1. plaidcamper

    Looks lovely, would like to visit there. Went to the Algarve one May many years ago. Warm, sunny, great windswept beaches and really friendly people. Good food and drink – and I quite like the occasional glass of port!

    Like

    Reply
  2. mooremisadventures

    Porto was one of my favorite stops in all of Europe! I think it’s funny how many people overlook Portugal and only make it to Spain. I love all your pictures and it’s making me nostalgic and eager to return.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment